Sleep When, uh…Toddler Sleeps?

My kids never really get sick. Whenever they start with the coughing or the runny nose-ing, they sleep extra. Chatty Baby has slept in until 10 am every morning this week. Helpful Kid has actually been napping in the afternoons.

Result?

Mild runny nose for Baby. Mild case of the “whines” for Kid.

*side note–The excessive whiny-ness that goes along with fighting sickness is my least favorite symptom to deal with. And by least favorite, I mean I want to build a timeout box that is sound proof.”

So I’m going along this week feeling like I’ve got this extra time to do my own stuff, like I always do in this situation. Forgetting, like I always do, that I’ve been exposed to the same germs by my generous children. As in, I should have been using the extra time to sleep as well. So that I don’t get really sick either.

I always remember when it’s just too late. I can feel it coming for me now.

But I should at least congratulate myself for having prevented the girls from getting sick, right?! They still feel like their normal, healthy…bouncy…uh, energetic…selves…

Oh, crap.

I would like to say I’ve learned my lesson for the next time, but let’s face it. The compulsion to use that extra kid-sleep time to get as much done as possible is affixed to the core of motherhood. It’s a fight I’ll never win.

How about you all?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sleep When, uh…Toddler Sleeps?

  1. salpal1 says:

    All I can say is that I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

