Sourdough Banana Bread Recipe AND Art in August.

Two things going on here today.

First, sourdough banana bread. Oh, yes, I went there.

image

Cream together 5 tbsp butter, 1 tsp salt, and 3/4 loosely packed brown sugar. Add 1 and 1/3 cups fresh whole wheat flour, 2 eggs, 2 very ripe bananas, and 1/4 cup sourdough starter. Beat until thoroughly combined. Scrape batter into a buttered 4″x8″ bread pan. Cover with plastic and let rise for about 8 hours or overnight. Bake at 350°F for 50 to 55 minutes.

Okay, it’s not exactly “quick” bread done this way…buuuuut if you start it the night before, it’s a pretty effortless breakfast in the morning. Sweet bananas, and just a hint of tang. Mmmmm….

Second thing. I’ve signed myself on for Art in August over at Laptop on the Ironing Board. Basic idea is we try to break out and dust off some old art passions and post the results! I’m going to try to eke out a meager couple of projects this month. I’m thinking mixed media right now, though I used to do a lot of watercolor.

The Helpful Toddler will be ecstatic when I sit down to play with what she now considers “her things,” and will be even more delighted for the opportunity to ruin, oh, er, I mean, help with something into which I’ve put time and effort. Transience is all part of the aesthetic appeal, is it not? That’s what I tell myself. Ev.er.y. Day.

Even so, it will be fun. Woo!

Who wants to join us??? (Pssst… you know you want to…)

This entry was posted in Sourdough and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sourdough Banana Bread Recipe AND Art in August.

  1. Sooooooooo excited! (Did I already mention that?) Sourdough banana bread sounds amazing, btw. My own helpful toddler is also keen to get involved. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

