Motherhood is so easy, a Rocket Scientist couldn’t do it.

The Hungry Baby is 9 months old. Where does the time go? These 9 months went faster (and rather more comfortably for me) than the, uh, first 9 months of her life.

Having children is like a time warp. Every day past your due date feels like an extra week of pregnancy. And then you give birth, and the first month feels like One Long Day, with roughly the equivalent amount of sleep. And then you blink, and suddenly you’re taking her to her 9 month well-child check-up.

And you’re all like, “My baby’s so big! Sniiiiiff!…… um, why couldn’t 9 months of pregnancy have passed like this?? So cute, but so big!”

For some crazy a** reason I scheduled her checkup for 10:35 AM. As in, IN THE MORNING. I don’t know why, especially when I consider the fact that I am not generally ready to present myself, my house, or my children to the world before 11am generally. If I don’t have my housework done by then, it ain’t gettin’ done. Here’s the kicker: the pediatrician is an HOUR away (good pediatricians are hard to find…)

So I set myself up to have to leave by 9:35am. Did I mention it was IN THE MORNING??

In my defense, having children makes one take all leave of one’s senses. It’s a species survival technique. So I don’t know why I scheduled that like that. I remember feeling like there was a reason. It’s all hazy now…

Well, recovering from vacation is hard. It takes at least a fortnight to get past the denial that it’s time to get back to work. And being in the middle of that meant waking up at 9:25 this morning.

!!!

Yep, woke up with ten minutes to get out the door. With two small children. I am SO nailing this motherhood thing.

Believe it or not, we made it out the door on time. The Helpful Toddler helpfully loves to eat oatmeal in the car. I’m putting the baby in her seat, thinking,

“Heh, I can’t believe we made it to the car on time. I.Am.Awesome.

“Moooooommy? What happened?”

Freeze.

“Oh, crap. We took The Helpful Toddler’s car seat cover off to wash it. It’s still dirty. In the basement.”

Aaaauuuugh!

Let’s just say, I’m a new fan of Febreeze. Long story short, we were a not-too-shabby five minutes late. Baby is healthy and beautiful and perfect. If I blink anymore, she’ll be walking out the front door on her own!

Seriously.

image

Sniiiiiff!

In other news, I’m working on THIS now:

image

Pattern: Soft as a Cloud Cowl (mock cable variation) from Joelle Hoverson’s More Last Minute Knitted Gifts.

Yarn: Expression Fiber Arts “chameleon color shift” sock yarn in Lilac Bush.

Slipping the knitting into this post makes me feel as shifty as an earmarking politician…

PS–My housework did NOT get done. In case you were wondering.

This entry was posted in Helpful Toddler, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Motherhood is so easy, a Rocket Scientist couldn’t do it.

  1. Oh I love reading posts like this – makes me feel a bit more human!! Thank you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

