I am not what I do.

I understand the essence of what the author is saying in the blog post, and I think that essence is wonderful. But, with the heavy handedness of her language, she exposes an underlying prejudice in our society: “housework is not important work.” She may say “no, no, I’m saying it has greater value…!” But the end of that thought is “…than is generally believed.”

Modern 1st world society harbors a mistaken assumption that our IDENTITY is defined by what we DO. “Hi, nice to meet you. What do you do for a living?” 

That’s not how it works. Wise King Solomon wrote that there is nothing better for a person than to eat, drink, and find satisfaction in his work… not “go on an endless search for work that is satisfying.”

I realize that is the point the author is making, but I’m frustrated by the way I’m frustrated when I answer the above question with “stay-at-home mom” and the look on the inquisitor’s face is “Ooooh, I see,you couldn’t hack it in the real world.” Is it just that I want more respect for the work I do? Or is the source of my frustration that *I* still believe my work is my identity? 

Stay-at-home mom is what I DO, but it’s not who I AM. I am a child of God; nothing else matters!

Ps–House work and mothering are freaking hard work!

Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

